REVIEW: Direct Action Gear – Ghost Pack

49 comments
direct-action-gear-ghost

A few months back, I tested and reviewed the Direct Action Gear “Dragon Egg” pack. Direct Action Gear is an interesting company to me, because until early this year, I -as a military backpack enthusiast and former US Marine- had never heard of them, and I’m surprised because their gear is absolutely “up to it” when it comes to the field. Not only that, but I have a feeling you’ll like their customer service as well.

Overview

As of the time of this review(June of 2015), Direct Action Gear has (3) military-grade backpacks. Their smallest is the “Dust”. Moving up, their 24 hour pack is the “Dragon Egg”, which I reviewed already – and I’m still using as my EDC. Their 72 hour pack is called “Ghost”, direct-action-gear-ghost-internal-storage_3measuring in at about 2950 cubic inches. The Ghost is honestly not that much larger than the Dragon Egg(only about 500CI bigger), but as the Dragon Egg packed more than we expected, so did the Ghost – by a long shot.

The Ghost comes in 12 flavors: Black, Olive Green, PL Woodland, Coyote, Camogrom®, Multicam®, Shadow Grey, PenCott Greenzone™, PenCott Badlands™, PenCott Snowdrift™, Kryptek Highlander™ and Kryptek Mandrake™. This pack is constructed of 500D Cordura and coated with Durable Water Repellent(DWR) as all of Direct Action Gear’s packs are. You really don’t need 1000D(although it’s nice). It’s stronger, but heavier and largely unnecessary.

Notable Features

At 5lb 2oz, this pack isn’t a heavy one. One of my favorite things I’ve seen from Direct Action Gear is their smaller, lighter packs, that seem to pack like larger, heavier ones – it’s a “best of both worlds” cocktail. The Ghost has (2) hydration bladder compartments. I really like that because if you’re a survivalist and you are thinking about a 72 hour hump, water is a big direct-action-gear-ghost-suspendersconcern. Obviously, every 72 hour load has its staples, but you’re going to want to add water wherever you can, and with the Ghost, it’s mighty convenient to do just that. The more I work with Direct Action Gear, the more I realize that they built their gear with functionality in mind. The hip support on this pack is wonderful. It’s not overdone like some fancy consumer-minded packs – just what it needs to be and nothing else- very comfortable. Oh, and did I mention, removable? Yep. When I first opened this bag, I noticed on one of the inside compartments, there was a Y harness – like suspenders. I was really searching for where these suspenders fit into the picture, but alas, I could not figure it out. Upon contacting Direct Action Gear, I was told that the suspenders go with the detachable hip belt – a sub-system all it’s own, and loaded with PALS webbing! This direct-action-gear-ghost-carry-handlereminded me of a stripped down version of my old USMC 782 gear, specifically the Load Bearing Vest, or LBV for short. While I am not really a fan of removing one of(in my opinion) the best features of this pack, I do like the fact that the belt is detachable and able to become it’s own rig. As I’m writing this review, I’m pondering why I might want a feature like that, and what situation might dictate the use of such a modular attachment, or appendage for that matter.

Field Test

I’ll be completely honest – I haven’t spent nearly the time with this pack as I would have liked to, prior to this review, but the time I did spend was dead on – a 3 day hump in the Catskills of New York. I packed what I consider a standard 72. I didn’t weigh in prior to the hump so direct-action-gear-ghost-internal-storage_2unfortunately, I don’t have a packed weight to disclose, but I can say it was more than a standard USMC checklist would provide. Also, I fashioned an attachment for my Mossberg .410 (model 500 home defender series w/ pistol grips and all the trimmings) which would serve as my meal-maker, or even protect against anything which would otherwise consider itself higher on the food chain than myself… I digress. Being summer here in MD, well actually NY where I was, I decided to roll out with two hydration bladders since the Ghost is properly provisioned for this. I’m going to say that load transfer is phenomenal for a 72 hour bag. This pack hugs like larger, expedition-rated pack. Most of the credit goes to the hip belt, which once again, is incredibly comfortable. This bag doesn’t have nearly the compartmentalized interior as the Dragon Egg, so small item organization is better accomplished on the exterior, using the PALS webbing which is direct-action-gear-ghost-back-venteverywhere. There are some extra pockets in the detachable front bag, which I had packed to death with first aid gear. Overall, the Ghost performed as expected – we stuffed it full of everything we needed to take(with room to spare), and after 3 days in the field, there was no shoulder or back pain, no sores or blisters, nothing.

Pros

The Ghost is a comfortable hump. Like the Dragon Egg(Direct Action Gear’s medium ruck), this bag feels really natural. Even when it was completely loaded down, it balanced really well – and I like that. Another thing is the detachable external pouch. I used that pouch as a 1st aid kit during my trip in the Catskills, and I think it serves really well as that. The fact that it’s detachable makes it really portable which, in the case of the first aid kit, creates value. I want to touch again, on the unique low profile, laser cut PALS webbing on DAG’s bags. This webbing is so usable, and so out-of-the-box – I love it. I hooked keys, a flashlight, and a small ammo bag up with pretty much the whole pack to spare. It’s strong, sleek and everywhere. I really liked the setup for two hydration bladders as well, which is a feature I think any 3 day bag should have. Granted, you could put two bladders in pretty much any bag, but this one was crafted with just that in mind – and that says something.

Cons

Not many. I was kind of spoiled with all the nooks and crannies of the other two packs made by Direct Action Gear. Although, to be fair, this bag isn’t really meant for a bunch of small stuff – it’s more of a “in it for the long haul” pack – so I guess that’s ok, but still… Also, The detachable pouch really rings my love/hate bell. This pouch works wonderfully as a first aid kit, but I hate that it’s detachable – at the same time, I love it. I think this is where I’m not able to be impartial and objective as my USMC thought process takes over. As a Marine, I want everything on me, right now. I like that the pouch is detachable, but if I were a consultant for this company, I’d have rather seen it integrated as extra space, which would have made the Ghost a supersized Dragon Egg. When it’s attached, I feel like I should be detaching and using it, but once it’s detached, I feel like part of my pack is missing. Maybe I just need a shrink, who knows?

Conclusion

I would put the Ghost on my top 3 72 hour pack list. I’m not saying it’s better or worse than packs from Condor or Maxpedition, but it sure is different and unique – and to me, that counts. I like that this company thinks outside the box, and puts function before anything else. Of course, Direct Action Gear – like any business – needs to remain competitive in their market, and they don’t seem scared to take the path less traveled – I admire that. Bottom line: if you’re shopping for a 3 day military grade pack, the Ghost definitely belongs on your short list.

Questions?

Tweet out to me so that others can benefit from your question too!

Meet the Author

I'm a former US Marine, full-time father and husband, and part-time survivalist. I like old things, like music, furniture and time-tested survival technique, but there's always a place in my heart for new technology such as weapons and sleeping bag fill. I'm here to share my knowledge and experience, and I hope you'll share yours as well.

49 comments… add one
  • hargis Jul 8, 2015, 6:03 pm

    Would like to see a stitching, craftsmanship, durability section in it reviews if possible,( the most important to me),

    • Mike Jul 14, 2015, 8:17 pm

      I’ll take that under consideration – thanks!

  • Roberto Pommerening Aug 23, 2015, 8:01 am

    Hi Mike,
    I ended up buying the Dragon Egg and just love the quality and features. I think the DA series of backpacks really stand out. There is only one thing I am not happy about…While using the bag with only a T-Shirt, I feel that the padding on the shoulder straps are a bit stiff/ thick, for my taste. After using the bag a few times, they don’t feel that comfortable and it makes me wonder if this is the reason why the straps on the GHOST and DUST are different, with less padding.
    Do you thing the GHOST or DUST are more comfortable.

    Thanks.
    Roberto

    • Mike Aug 24, 2015, 12:51 am

      This all boils down to the load. You can fill a pack with sand or with feathers. That said, the Ghost is a more comfortable pack for a heavier load, but that’s because of the heavier duty hip strap. When you’re fully packed, load transfer is absolutely critical. The dragon egg is a fantastic pack, but you might want to try messing about with the hip strap. Lots of folks aren’t aware that most of your load should be supported on the hips. The straps just keep the load tight to your back. Let me know if you get anywhere with this advice. It might be worth contacting Direct Action about this, and if you like, I have a wonderful contact there.

      • Roberto Pommerening Aug 24, 2015, 1:35 pm

        Hi Mike, thank you very much for your reply.
        Like I said, I just love the overall quality and organization features of this pack. FANTASTIC good looking backpack.
        I did load it with some supplies while on Vacation (around 4 to 6 kg – but did not use the hip strap). While snug on my back, I could feel the buckles at the bottom poking my lower back and the padding were not really helpful to distribute all the load (and are not supposed to, like you said) …If I carry it more ” lose” down the back, it felt a bit more comfortable…but loose.
        Nevertheless, irrespective of the load, the thick padding are really uncomfortable if I have to carry also my child or try to ride a bike with the bag (arms forward). They really press into your arms after a while.
        I believe, If you use the Dragon Egg with a more padded (winter) Jacket, this is not much of an issue…but with only a T-Shirt, it is a bit different.
        This is why I was wondering why the padding on the GHOST and DUST are the same and different then the EGG. I will try to use the hip strap and let you know if there is a difference.
        Besides the GHOST, which are the other two top 72h backpack you would recommend?
        (if you could give me the contact at DA would be great…THANKS)

        • Mike Aug 25, 2015, 11:08 pm

          Roberto – I was always, and continue to be a big fan of 5.11 bags. The 5.11 Rush 72 is an excellent pack in that arena. The Falcon II is also an excellent pack. I have emailed my guy at Direct Action and forwarded your email address to him so that he or one of his technical folks can contact you. I’m sure they’ll be in touch with you promptly.

  • C. Clark Aug 27, 2015, 10:34 pm

    First off, great review and Semper Fi. I’ve been looking for a good replacement for my old pack and saw this on another site. I also was unfamiliar with the Direct Action company but they look like they have a nice selection of 24-72 packs. I’m looking for something to use as an EDC/college pack but one that is also good for some weekend excursions. This pack a good fit for the job? The one I have now has been with me since I was a boot in 2008 but the zippers are giving out. I purchased an old ILBE from a surplus store so I got something already for the long humps, but its a bit overboard for EDC.

    • Mike Aug 29, 2015, 11:46 pm

      C.Clark – The Direct action bags are awesome. I love the dragon egg, but honestly, what I like more, is the Ghost, with the hip strap removed and the external pouch removed – it’s just an awesome pack.

  • Kevin L Sep 19, 2015, 3:46 am

    Thank you for this website. After reading a few of your reviews, I feel that I have become an expert in rucksacks.

    I purchased the Ghost this evening. It looks bad and appears to stow all that may be needed for an excursion. I ended up getting the Shadow Grey to match the Tornado Grey of my DDM4 .

    Thanks again and God bless.

    • Mike Sep 20, 2015, 12:13 am

      Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you like the Ghost. I have the Ghost and I’ve quite fond of it. Actually, it’s one of my favorite backpacks(I have many – no seriously, I have a crazy number of backpacks).

  • udi Sep 25, 2015, 9:20 pm

    Mike Hi. great reviews. like hearing your thoughts as to the “direct action dust” for a normal day2day pack. leatherman, bottle of water or 2, some kids stuff, a flashlight, small camera + lens and some sweatshirt packed in.
    thanks. great.

    • Mike Sep 26, 2015, 1:44 am

      I’m glad you like! The Dust is an amazing all-purpose bag. I love it and use it all the time.

  • sam Nov 17, 2015, 10:37 pm

    Is it too big to use everyday? Cheers

    • Mike Nov 18, 2015, 2:29 am

      Depends on what you carry. Without the extension pouch, it’s still a fairly large pack. Depending on the load, I would much prefer the Dragon Egg, which I am still using as my EDC.

  • taylor Nov 18, 2015, 6:25 pm

    Hey Mike,
    I was wondering weather or not If you know the weight limit of the ghost pack is? Was looking for something that I could carry 60-80 lbs. Also, are there warranties on these packs?
    Thanks

    • Mike Nov 20, 2015, 1:05 am

      Taylor, not really sure on either of those two questions. I feel like at 80lbs though, you are looking for an expedition pack more or less.

  • Zack Dec 28, 2015, 9:36 pm

    Could you fit a sleeping bag in it?

    • Mike Dec 30, 2015, 6:00 pm

      With ease. The Ghost is a pretty reasonably sized pack and would easily fit a sleeping bag, even if it were one of the old rectangular deals you had as a kid.

  • Kasey Jan 8, 2016, 9:11 pm

    I just recieved my ghost last week, bit of a Christmas present to myself, and I was wondering if you had any recommendations on what hydration bladders best to use with it.

    Thanks in advance!

    • Mike Jan 9, 2016, 12:31 am

      I think all the bladders are more or less universal. Can’t go wrong with a camelbak brand – very good quality.

  • Nate G. Jan 16, 2016, 7:16 am

    Thanks for the great reviews of DA’s gear. Definitely stuck on which pack to get though: the Ghost or the Dragon Egg. Whichever I end up getting, it will fill the role of my EDC, in addition to being my “assault pack” while out in the field, and also being my hiking pack (just slightly changing the load-out for each “mission” at hand). Current EDC is an earlier-model CamelBak Motherlode (which is really a Condor 3-Day Assault Pack (http://img47.xooimage.com/files/f/d/d/dscn1885-94e857.jpg)) which has been great, but I’m just looking to try something new.

    One thing I think would help me make my decision is a few more pictures, especially of the detachable portion of the Ghost. I’m not sure where I read it now, but I had heard that the second hydration storage area was in the detachable portion of the Ghost. Is that true?
    Just more pictures of the bag in general would be great, both loaded with gear, and empty. It’s hard for me to get a sense of the size of this bag from any of DA’s own photos of the bag either.

    And while I know its not necessarily a focus of your reviews, being in the military I find myself on TDY and flying at least a couple times a year, and I’m curious how “carry-on luggage”-compliant this bag is in terms of size. I’m thinking the this is where the detachable bit might be nice… keep it clipped on until you get on the plane, then pop it off, stow the main bag overhead and have the detachable portion loaded with the usual things I might use during the flight (snacks, a book, travel documents, iPad mini, etc.). And on that note, is the detachable part detachable quickly (30 seconds or less), or is it something you really only want to remove and put back on if you absolutely have to?

    I appreciate the links to Amazon for buying the bag, but perhaps you could make the pictures link to larger versions of the pictures instead?

    Thanks for being so responsive to the comments on your reviews!

    • Mike Jan 17, 2016, 1:46 pm

      Nate – I think I’d go with the Ghost if I were you. It’s bigger, but not to a ridiculous extent. Also, the bladder compartments are both inside the bag. The detachable pouch on the front serves well as a first aid section, but it’s not for a hydro bladder.

      Not sure what the carry-on requirements are as I’ve not been on a plane in 10 years, but as I remember, most checking counters have a basket there and it’s one of those “if your bag fits in this basket, it can be carried on” type of deals.

      • Nate G. Jan 22, 2016, 6:29 pm

        Thanks for feedback Mike! Sounds like the Ghost is right for me.

        • Mike Jan 23, 2016, 12:25 am

          Excellent choice! Make sure to come back here and post up your thoughts on it!

  • Robin Mar 5, 2016, 3:38 pm

    When I first read your review, I thought you were a bit nuts with your love/hate for the detachable admin pocket.
    “Won’t be getting that feeling”, I thought.
    So I bought the pack, mostly thanks to this review. Read many, but most reviewers only present the pack, they don’t use it for an extended period of time.
    Received it, loved it, packed it, and got stuck when I couldn’t decide whether to keep the admin panel on or off…
    So, no, you don’t need a shrink, you’re just a soldier.

    • Mike Mar 9, 2016, 2:09 pm

      I understand. Of course, these reviews are merely an opinion of mine, but just like my wife tells me, sometimes I’m right.

  • Khalil Mar 22, 2016, 3:53 pm

    Hi Mike,

    im planning on taking some basic survival classes and next year some advanced 30-40 days survival class programs.

    i love the outdoors with backpacking, hiking and camping (and recurve bowhunting come next year).

    im trying to decide on the condor 3 day assault or the direct action ghost. I really cant decide. Your thoughts?

    Ps: my father was a marine. Thank you for all youve done.

    • Mike Mar 22, 2016, 10:14 pm

      Those are both EXCELLENT packs Khalil. The C3 is a *little* more compartment-based than the Ghost, and therefore, I prefer it a bit more for a bug out setup. Quality-wise, I’d say they are the same. Also, the Direct Action bags have low-profile PALS webbing, and folks either love, or hate it. I like it personally, but I also like the old 1″ weave stand by.

      Tell your dad Semper Fidelis!

  • Glen Bramlitt Mar 28, 2016, 1:35 pm

    Semper Fi, Devil Dog! 4 years in serving with ANGLICO, 1st Recon, and 2nd LSB – and I miss it.

    I’ve been out of the Corps for 20 years now, but I’m still active. Lately, I’ve been living my Corps days vicariously through GORUCK. Awesome guys and awesome gear. I’m preparing for a HTL (24-hr Heavy + 5hr break + 12hr Tough + 5hr break + 6hr Light). The GORUCK GR-1 has been my goto ruck. However, one of the things that bother me about GORUCK is their lack of incorporated waist support. Sure, you can purchase the padded waist belt that attaches to the ruck, but I don’t feel it really spreads the load as would something like the Ghost would.

    The GR-1 uses 1000D vs Ghost’s 500D construction. For a true 72hr load out with up to about 45lbs, do you feel the Ghost can handle this? And does the incorporated waistbelt on the Ghost serve better than an added molle waistbelt by GORUCK?

    Thanks for the review of this and others. (also read your review of the GR-1).

    • Mike Mar 28, 2016, 3:16 pm

      Shrimp n Fries, Creamed Corn Leatherneck!

      The Ghost is a pretty nice rig Glen. Your point on the 500D vs 1000D is a very valid one as well. There really is no perfect pack, and points like these illustrate that. All that being said, I still really, really love the Ghost, and the hip belt is high speed, low drag without any doubt. I love how the Ghost fits me and my only real gripe has been the awkward external pouch. I’ve never suggest a redesign, but the external pouch is just ‘unnatural’.

      Of course, GORUCK has lifetime Scars warranty, so there’s that. I don’t know what to say, but I do love my Ghost.

      • Glen Bramlitt Mar 28, 2016, 3:41 pm

        Allow me to pose this question…

        Having owned both a GR1 and a Ghost: you’re headed out for a rigorous 72hr hump – covering 40 to 50 miles, You have a GR1 and Ghost sitting next to each other.

        Which one do you grab?

        • Mike Mar 30, 2016, 10:57 pm

          Gun to my head, given the circumstances you present – the Ghost. I love the GR-1 – I really, really do- but I think I love the Ghost more, for the criteria your talking about. The hip belt is HUGE.

  • Laramie post Apr 15, 2016, 7:11 pm

    Hello, iv been lookn for a bag for the base of my pack and iv seen so many different packs from alof of different manufacturers, I’m having trouble keeping track of the details for each bag. Could u tell me wat bag u kno of that best matches this description?

    :Large capacity about 50+ liters
    :Designed kinda like the 5.11 Rush Packs or the Ghost, Dust, and Dragon Egg Packs (not tall rectangular style)
    :very strong handle, multiple on different sides would be fine
    :able to hold at least one or more hydration bladders
    :water proof, or as water resistant as possible
    :fully removable and adjustable hip/kidney belt and shoulder straps, with adjustable sterem strap, with strong quick release buckles, with good long lasting padding, that can connect like a harness when detached An the whole thing covered in MOLLE/PALS webbing. The idea is to be able to detach the entire pack without needing to take off the carrying harness then be able to take off whatever smaller pockets and bags from the main pack and quickly attach them to the harness. Kind of like a quick drop from the main load and haul ass if need be
    :ability to attach as many attachments as need be, big and small, to pack and harness
    :pack has to be covered at least front and both sides with MOLLE/PALS webbing
    :MOLLE/PALS webbing should be strong and durable enough to carry and support any random pack or bag or pocket or some kind of external compartment while fully loaded without breaking
    :bottom has to have 2-4 straps able to carry a sleeping system or tent (MOLLE/PALS webbbing optional on bottom)
    :double stitched
    :durable YKK zippers
    :able to store a tent or sleeping system in main compartment with ample room to spare
    😀 ring attachment points
    :various compression straps and buckles
    :(OPTIONAL) Velcro to stick on patches or I’d tags
    :back has to have some kind of system for maximum airflow and comfort
    :should have at least a back stabilizer or something to add stability
    :and it needs to be able to have all of this while carrying heavy amounts of weight, while traversing several miles of harsh terrain.

    Or do u kno of diffent products from different manufacturers that would be compatible for eachother to build the pack I require? Thank you for your time.

    • Mike Apr 19, 2016, 8:46 pm

      If you need something custom, “Tactical Tailor” is far and away the best route. Check them out online.

  • Troy Price Jr. Apr 18, 2016, 1:14 pm

    So i am a college student and i was looking at the ghost pack, i read in you review that you said the dragon egg wasn’t much smaller. My question for you is that i was wondering if you could fit 15 inch laptop and a good amount of books in the dragon egg or would you suggest the ghost pack?

    • Mike Apr 19, 2016, 8:48 pm

      I would go with the Ghost pack Troy. It’s bigger, but not ridiculously huge.

      • Troy Price Jr. Apr 20, 2016, 1:08 pm

        Thank you I just didn’t want it to be overly big and look silly yet on the flip side of the coin i wanted a good hiking and camping pack. Thank you again, and another silly question i was looking at the multi cam color and I don’t know if all multi cam is the same i guess what I’m getting at is the will the multi cam of the pack easily be matched with add on MOLLE packs?

        • Mike Apr 27, 2016, 8:46 pm

          Troy, the multi-cam is a pattern, or pattern style. It can be made in many colors. Just like Bell Bottom jeans, it’s the style, the design. That said, any piece of gear which has a legit “multicam” pattern will match in design, and if the colors are close, that’s a plus too.

          check this out.

  • Floesh Jun 2, 2016, 8:28 am

    Hi from the Netherlands. Thank you for the great review. I am new to bags and prepping, do you think the Ghost is big enough as a BOB or NICH pack? I live in an urban area and have no survival skills.

    • Mike Jun 2, 2016, 5:37 pm

      Well I can tell you you’ll be extremely happy with the Ghost, and it’s definitely big enough for a BOB.

  • Floesh Jun 2, 2016, 10:04 am

    Hi from the Netherlands. This Ghost seems like an awesome backpack. I just ordered it in full Black color which was difficult to find. Great review, thanks.

  • Russ Jul 21, 2016, 4:26 pm

    Great review Mike. I noticed the detachable pack has molle on the backside. Can the detachable pack be reattached to the main pack via the molle straps and would this make it more integrated into the bag (sort of like a larger Dragon Egg), rather than hanging loose like a separate attachment?

    • Mike Jul 26, 2016, 9:29 pm

      Russ, the extension bag is definitely made with the option to fasten the MOLLE way to the rear of the pack. These bags have low profile PALS webbing, which makes for a super slim setup. Here are some pics of the bag of the Ghost without the ExtPack on, and a pic of the ExtPack. pic 1pic 2

  • Jake Sep 9, 2016, 9:01 am

    Is the ghost still holding up well? I just worry they only have a 1 year warranty when other brands go lifetime…..im wanting to transport books and laptop to classroom ( i teach) every day so Im looking between ghost and dragon egg…but i also want a good day pack/hunting pack with survival gear…i feel like the dragon might be too small and the ghost too big so it’s tricky without actually being about to see them in person….direct action said i could return one for the other within 30 days, but then id be paying shipping back and maybe a 20% restock, so id like to try to get it right the first time haha

    • Mike Sep 19, 2016, 5:57 pm

      Yeah Jake, my Ghost is still going strong, but I think it has to do with how much you use your gear. I have many packs, and I rotate them.

  • Stewpidbear Nov 30, 2016, 9:49 am

    Just a couple of amdditions and comments from a civilian user. I’m ( god help me!) a grandfather and medically challenged (read as totally kanackerd), and needed a new carry on bag for going on holiday. I choose the Ghost, and have been in love with it ever since. It easily passes the carry on test and the front removable panel is perfect for carrying meds and easily checkable by customs and security ( I have to carry various injectors, and so needles). In conjunction with DA messenger bag I find the Ghost perfect for a weeks holiday in an hotel. I’ve removed the hip belt, and the pack with it’s attached straps is perfect for me for the limited amount of walking I do on holiday from home to airport to hotel and back. The removable admin panel with it’s bungee cords at the sides I find is perfect for also stuffing a jacket behind that is redably available. To be honest I can’t find anything wrong with the pack (for me), and I found your review exceedingly helpful, so thank you very much and carry on the good work.

    • Mike Dec 9, 2016, 10:22 pm

      Very welcome! Glad you like the Ghost – I sure do.

  • A Satriyo Dec 29, 2016, 9:39 pm

    Hi there Mike.
    Thanks for reviewing Ghost, I’m planning to buy Ghost & Dust in the next few months and I wouldn’t found it in the first place if not because your review on Ghost. I have inquired Direct Action regarding certain spec of the Ghost, but I could always use independent opinion before I buy any product (just to make sure).

    In you opinion how good does the waterproofing on the Ghost? My intended usage of the Ghost including using it under heavy (stormy) rain, river / marsh fording with deep fording also as a possibility, and could the Ghost handle 40 lbs weight? (but realistically it most likely 35 lbs though)

    Thanks beforehand 🙂

    • Mike Jan 12, 2017, 1:07 pm

      The Ghost isn’t really water”proof”, but rather water resistant. I would suggest spraying a water repellent such as this.

Leave a Comment